

Headquarters
New Zealand Defence Force
Defence House
Private Bag 39997
Wellington Mail Centre
Lower Hutt 5045
New Zealand

OIA-2024-5003

22 May 2024

N S Hudson fyi-request-26529-17ccbc77@requests.fyi.org.nz

## Dear N S Hudson

I refer to your email of 24 April 2024 requesting, under the Official Information Act 1982 (OIA), the following:

I am writing to request information regarding the Directors and Principal Scientists who have served at the Defence Technology Agency (DTA) and the current Defence Science & Technology (DST) within the New Zealand Defence Force (NZDF).

## 1. Dates of Establishment and Dissolution:

- Please provide clarification on the dates of establishment and dissolution of the Defence Technology Agency (DTA).
- Additionally, I would like to request information on the date of establishment of the current Defence Science & Technology (DST) within the NZDF.

## 2. List of Directors and Principal Scientists:

- For the Defence Technology Agency (DTA):
- Please provide a list of individuals who served as Directors of the DTA, along with their respective dates of tenure in that position.
- Similarly, I request a list of Principal Scientists who were in charge during the existence of the DTA, including their dates of employment.
- For the Defence Science & Technology (DST):
- Kindly provide a list of individuals who have held the position of Director at the DST, along with the corresponding dates of their tenure.
- Additionally, I would like a list of Principal Scientists currently or previously serving at the DST, along with their dates of employment.

The Defence Technology Agency (DTA) was established by name change from Defence Operational Technology Support Establishment (DOTSE) during 2001. Defence Science and Technology (DST) was established by name change from DTA on 1 January 2024. The below table provides the names and tenures of people appointed to the positions of Director and Principal Scientist for DTA and DST. Some historical dates are best estimates as the original documentation cannot be located.

	Director	Principal Scientist
DTA	Dr John Buckingham, from inception of DTA	Dr John Kay, 2015 to June 2024
	Mr Stephen Wilce, 2005 to September 2010	
	Dr Ralph Marrett, Acting Director, September 2010 to April 2012	
	Dr Brian Young, April 2012 to July 2021	
	Dr John Kay, Acting Director, July 2021 to December 2021	
	Dr David Galligan, December 2021 to 31 December 2024	
DST	Dr David Galligan, 1 January 2024 to present	There is currently no Principal
		Scientist role at DST

You have the right, under section 28(3) of the OIA, to ask an Ombudsman to review this response to your request. Information about how to make a complaint is available at <a href="https://www.ombudsman.parliament.nz">www.ombudsman.parliament.nz</a> or freephone 0800 802 602.

Please note that responses to official information requests are proactively released where possible. This response to your request will be published shortly on the NZDF website, with your personal information removed.

Yours sincerely

## AJ WOODS

Air Commodore Chief of Staff HQNZDF