NZDF Top Brass In National Band

27 August 2014

A record fifteen New Zealand Defence Force personnel from all three Services have been selected in the 2014 National Brass Band of New Zealand to tour China and Korea in September.

Established in 1953, the National Brass Band is the pinnacle of brass band playing in New Zealand. Members audition for a place in the band and only the very best get selected to represent their country.

The 2014 National Brass Band and Kapa Haka group will give nine concerts in China in eight cities, including Shanghai. The tour party will then travel to Korea where it will give two concerts in Seoul as part of the Korea International Wind Band Festival.

The National Band will be led by Music Director Nigel Weeks, of Auckland, on what will be the first tour with the band for many of the NZDF personnel.

“This is the highest number of players the NZDF has ever had in the National Band which is testament to the high standard of musicianship in the NZDF,” said LT CDR Owen Clarke, Navy’s Director of Music.

The National Band and Kapa Haka group will perform one concert only in New Zealand prior to departing for China. This will be held on Monday 1 September, 7.30pm at the Dorothy Winstone Centre at Auckland Girls’ Grammar School.


For more information please contact the Defence Communications Group on 021 487 980

NZDF band members and their hometowns are as follows:

Navy Musicians:

Chief Petty Officer Michael Tan – Sydney Australia (percussion)

Leading Musician Michael Ashton – Southport UK (trombone)

Able Musician Colin Clark – Adelaide Australia (soprano cornet)

Able Musician Jessica Hix – Rangiora NZ (percussion)

Able Musician Fraser Robertson – Te Awamutu (tuba)

Able Musician Matthew Stein – Wellington NZ (cornet)


Army Musicians:

Capt Graham Hickman – Feilding (cornet)

Private Kyle Lawson – Wanganui (cornet)

Raynor Martin – New Plymouth (cornet)

Private Andrew Yorkstone – Invercargill (principal trombone)

Private Joe Thomas – Tauranga (bass trombone)

Corporal Leigh Martin – New Plymouth (BBb Bass)

Private Joel Williams - Christchurch (BBb Bass)


Air Force Musicians:

Sergeant Clyde Dixon – Ohakea (percussion)

Sergeant Grant Myhill – Wellington (cornet)


This page was last reviewed on 10 September 2014.