Army Sports Awards

20 May 2011

Army touch player, physical training instructor Corporal Eugene Hepi has won the Chief of Army's Supreme Sports Award and the Individual Sportsperson of the Year award.

Corporal Eugene Hepi (AW-11-0520-1).
Corporal Eugene Hepi (AW-11-0520-1).

The awards were announced at the Army's Annual Sports Awards in Waiouru on 18 May.

CPL Hepi was the driving force behind the NZ Army Open Men's victory at the February 2010 New Zealand defence Force touch tournament. As a standout player he has taken on the role of player/coach and has continued to guide the Open Men's team to repeated success. He was a member of the Manawatu Open men's provincial side that finished fourth in the 2010 NZ National Touch tournament, and as a result of his performance at the NZ Nationals he was selected in the NZ Over 30s Men's touch team.

Staff Sergeant Nicky Hansen who has worked with both Army softball and rugby league teams was named Sports Official of the Year. An accomplished NZDF softball and rugby league official and administrator, she has represented rugby league at Army and provincial level, and softball at Army, NZDF and national level.

The Army Rugby Team won the Team of the Year Award, and the Command Trophy was won by Central Region, and accepted by the Commander, 2 Land Force Group, Colonel Howie Duffy.

The guest speaker at the Awards was Shaun Quincey, who, in March 2010, rowed solo from Australia to New Zealand.

This page was last reviewed on 23 May 2011.