Call for Anzac of the Year nominations

ANZAC of the year, LTCOL (Rtd) John Masters at Papanui RSA in Christchurch
Last years; ANZAC of the Year, LTCOL (Rtd) John Masters at the Papanui RSA.

3 February 2011

RNZRSA Media Release

Last year’s launch of the Anzac of the Year Award was a great success. The Award received excellent media coverage and established itself as a unique and iconic New Zealand award through its direct association with “the spirit of Anzac”, an essence that resonates as well with New Zealanders today as it did in 1915.

Lt Col John Masters ONZM MC JP was a fine recipient of the inaugural Anzac of the Year Award in 2010. The comradeship, compassion, courage, and commitment exemplified in John’s courage in combat and his dedication and service to fellow Vietnam veterans was an outstanding example to all New Zealanders.

Established by the RNZRSA to recognise the spirit of Anzac evident in New Zealanders today, the Anzac of the Year Award honours the efforts and achievements of a New Zealander, or New Zealanders, who has best displayed the qualities of comradeship, compassion, courage, and commitment.  It may be awarded for a single act, or for significant service to New Zealanders or the international community.

Nominations for the 2011 Anzac of the Year close on 28 February. Although nominations for this prestigious award can be made by any New Zealand citizen, we are actively seeking interest from your organisation. 

Nominations: Nominations are open for the month of February 2011. Organisations can make more than one nomination. Nominees need not be serving or have served, but only to have exhibited the four qualities of comradeship, compassion, courage, and commitment beyond the call of duty.  Nomination criteria are available on our website.

How to Nominate:  The nomination form is available on the RSA website along with information about the award, including nomination and selection criteria. This information will be very helpful to those who are compiling a nomination. The nomination form is in word document format so can be completed and submitted electronically. Nominations close 28 February. The Anzac of the Year will be announced in April and invited to attend a media event to receive the award.  A full brief on the Award including contact details can be found on our website .

Dr Stephen Clarke

This page was last reviewed on 10 February 2011.